Repairing a Pitch-Mark on Your Line of Play

Repairing a Pitch-Mark on Your Line of Play

Repairing Pitch Mark

During Round 1 of the 2016 FedEx St. Jude Classic, at the par-3 8th hole at the TPC Southwind, Seung-Yul Noh played first from the tee and his ball ended up in the closely mown area right of the green approximately 45 feet from the hole.  Stewart Cink played second and his ball landed and made a pitch mark in the closely mown area just off the green on Seung-Yul’s line of play.  They called for a ruling to inquire whether the pitch mark could be repaired.  As Seung-Yul’s ball was there first and his line of play was not initially affected by the pitch mark, he was entitled to repair the mark and restore his line of play to what he had prior to Stewart Cink’s shot.  Seung-Yul repaired the pitch mark and proceeded to put from off the green.


See Decision 13-2/8.


1 Comment

  • Foremost Posted June 15, 2016 6:02 pm

    I had no idea there was an exception for a pitch mark made after a ball came to rest…that’s great to know . Thanks!

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *