Quantcast
Provisional Ball

Provisional Ball

 

RULINGS EXPLANATION

Provisional Ball

Robby Ware, PGRA Rules Official

17 July 2016

Barbasol Championship

A player in the 3rd round of the Barbasol Championship struck his tee shot into a water hazard. He announced to his fellow competitors that he was going to play a “Provisional ball” from the tee, which he did. The player called for a ruling wishing now to operate under the Water Hazard rule.

11th Hole at the Barbasol Championship

Photograph by Robby Ware

Rule 27-2 states that a “Provisional ball” may be played if a ball may be lost outside a water hazard or out of bounds. Decision 27-2a/2 states that if a players tee shot might be in a water hazard, but clearly not lost outside a water hazard or out of bounds then the second ball played from the tee is the ball in play and Not a “Provisional ball.”

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *